To Christella Ma’am

I was in Class 5 and even then English was my favourite subject and Christella Ma’am, my class teacher was my English teacher. Halfway through the year we had, each, to work on a project. I had to do something related to verbs or tenses… I don’t remember. What I do remember is breezing through my work and submitting it the next day. I knew… just knew that mine was the best project work in class. I could see the others struggle.
Christella Ma’am took in all our submissions. The next day we were told our marks. Another kid in class had got the highest marks. I don’t remember if I came second or third or fifth. I remember I didn’t come in first. To say I was taken aback would be an understatement. So immense was my feeling of being unjustly treated that I marched up to Ma’am and asked her, ‘why!? Why am I not the top scorer?’
Ma’am looked at me and said, “Your work may have been the best in the class, but it was not your best.”
In that moment she taught me one of the biggest lessons of my life. Anything worth doing is worth doing, not just well, but the best that you can make it.
So to Christella Ma’am and all the lovely, committed teachers in the world out there, Happy Teacher’s Day. And, thank you.

If you have the time please do watch this video. https://www.ted.com/talks/rita_pierson_every_kid_needs_a_champion?language=en

One thought on “To Christella Ma’am

Comments are closed.